Merits of the Highest order

T.S. Eliot: Awards and Honors

T.S Eliot had received thirteen honorary doctorates, from Universities like Oxford, Cambridge, the Sorbonne and Harvard.

King George VI of the United Kingdom, awarded the Order of Merit for T.S. Eliot in 1948, honoring him for his services in Literature.

In Stockholm of 1948, the same year he got the Order of Merit, T.S. Eliot also received the Nobel Prize for Literature, "for his outstanding, pioneer contribution to present-day poetry".

In 1951, T.S. Eliot was honored as the Officier de la Legion d'Honneur, which is a French order, established by Napoleon Bonaparte, in 19th may 1802.

In 1955, T.S. Eliot received the Hanseatic Goether Prize in Hamburg, which is a German literary and artistic award, given biennially since 1949 to a figure of European stature.

In 1959, he received the Dante Medal in Florence.

In 1960, he received the Commandeur de l'ordre des Arts et des Lettres, which is an Order of France established in 2 May 1957 by the Minister of Culture, and confirmed as part of the Ordre national du Mérite by President Charles de Gaulle in 1963.

In 1964, he received the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

In 1950, The Broadway production of the Cocktail Party won a Tony Award for Best Play.

The Eliot College in the University of Kent was named after him.

T.S Eliot was celebrated on commemorative Postage Stamps.

He was awarded two Tony Award in 1983, posthumously for his poems, used in the musical Cats.

T.S. Eliot was honored a star in the St. Louis Walk of Fame.

No comments:

Post a Comment